Home Forums iOS Development Show and dismiss ViewController modally

This topic contains 10 replies, has 2 voices, and was last updated by  DenisXaa 3 months, 1 week ago.

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 10 (of 11 total)
  • Author

Malek
    Keymaster

Moved here from http://sweettutos.com/forums/topic/switch-the-root-controller-with-an-animation/

• This topic was modified 1 year, 10 months ago by  Malek.
    #2704 Reply

Michele

Hi Malek,
    thanks a lot for sharing.
    I’m a newbie swift coder so just a question.

How can I set a new rootViewController and dismiss modally the first one (animation from the top to the bottom?)

Thank you very much.
    Michele

#2708 Reply

Malek
    Keymaster

Hi Michele,

Sure, it’s easy to show/dismiss view controllers, the animation you are looking for is the modal presentation.

Show view controller modally (Assuming the Storyboard ID is “SecondVCID”):

To dismiss the view controller (from the SecondViewController.swift class):

• This reply was modified 1 year, 10 months ago by  Malek.
    #2712 Reply

Michele

Hi Malek and thank you for your answer.
    Unfortunally your suggestion doesn’t work out for me.
    The two ViewControllers are not in the same stack, there are no segue that link the two VC and there are different Navigation controller.

NV1->VC->VC->VC(exit and set as rootController NV2)
    NV2->VC-VC …

I have 2 NV and I would to exit from a certain VC in the first stream and set the new rootNavigationController with the second NV2 with a smooth transition, if I can in a “dismiss modal” like style.

Thank you again,

Michele

#2713 Reply

Malek
    Keymaster

Hey Michele,
    Since a navigation controller is a UIViewController subclass , then in order to move from NV1 to NV2 stack, you can set it as the root of the window with a modal animation:

appDelegate.window?.rootViewController?.presentViewController(NV2, animated: true, completion: nil)

#2717 Reply

Michele

Thank you for your answer Malek.